Oscilloscope cost to generate & measure these traits

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
UPFRONT ADMISSION : COMPLETE NEWBIE ABOUT THOSE INSTRUMENTS.

Please omit conjectures which say "there will be no audible difference", and that this is a silly total waste of time and money.

??? WHAT DIFFERENCES HAPPEN IN WIRE ??? ---

A. With a run of wire from amp to crossovers WITHOUT BINDING POSTS . In other words, WIRE ONLY -- no binding posts between.

B. With a run of wire from amp to crossovers WITH BINDING POSTS -- adding junctions to a path for the music signal.

Tests that seem revelatory for what I want to discover :

1.) Simultaneous 15K and 13K sinewaves -- intermod levels and odd-order artifacts.

2.) Simultaneous 5K and 3K sinewaves -- intermod levels and odd-order artifacts.

3.) Squarewaves at 15K / 10K / 5K.

4.) Step and impulse response at 15K / 10K / 5K.

So, what company has a scope to determine these factors ?

UPFRONT ADMISSION : COMPLETE NEWBIE ABOUT THOSE INSTRUMENTS.

I would strongly suggest that you get a comfortable familiarity with metrology and instrumentation first. The pursuit of chimeras is an expensive and time-consuming activity, and without a great deal of experience and knowledge, one can easily believe that the chimera has been found without realizing that it was actually a stuffed Pooh Bear.

A meter can give you a number. A scope or spectrum analyser can gve you a trace. These are raw data. To turn them into information you need to understand what is happening, and allow for confusing issues. The smaller the effect you are looking for the (relatively) larger are the confusing issues. Those who have never tried it may be surprised how easy it is to 'measure' some artifact of the test equipment and then proclaim it as a new discovery. It always helps, of course, if this artifact (at least in a dim light) looks vaguely like the effect you hoped to see.