Over sensitive CD-Player (Denon Ar-1550)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'll keep it short, my CD-player has become very sensitive to vibrations and though placing it on a air cushion helped a bit, it's still to jumpy for my taste. I have the service manual and i've checked the mecanical suspension of the lens but I see no fault. What can it be?

Any suggestions are most welcome...

//Greetings from Sweden

Ps. I've tried to run the "service program" but I dont have a reference CD. With a normal CD I get values within the specified limits though.

Hm. A lot of these laser mechanisms use a servo focus system to keep the data track reading properly as disc imperfections and warps etc go by... it could be that the servo adjustments have some somehow gotten out of whack. I'm not a loader expert by any means, but a recalibration of the servo trimpots may be in order - probably not an easy thing for the DIYer though... In a worst-case scenario, the actuators are just worn out, and there's probably not much to be done about that.

You might be able to find information related specifically to the loader. Often times, many different companies will manufacture CD or DVD players using the same loader supplied by one company. If you can't find the necessary information about that specific loader, you might be able to find a used (hopefully cheap) player with the same loader in it, and just swap it out.

I know it's probably not what you want to hear, but from my experience, these things tend to be rather finicky... they're generally reliable, but when something goes wrong, they're just kaput.

Good luck with it.

Hello Anelar,

like hifiZen said it´s probably the focus system that needs calibration.
I now it sounds funny but if you don´t have a service manual and the right equipment it´s possible to do the calibration by ear:eek: