Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Dac build
Dac build
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th September 2019, 03:32 AM   #1
flyingmattyboy is offline flyingmattyboy  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Dac build

Hello. I would like to replace my Arcam Blink with something more serious. I was thinking along the lines of diy Dac, as a vinyl fan I have no knowledge of Dacs and dont understand what components are required to acheive my goal. This is what I would like though. The ability to connect directly to my phone via Bluetooth and stream music players, ability to connect to cd player via optical and possibly coax.

I like the look of the dddac but its out of my budget. I then stumbled accross the Soekris Dam 1021. More within my budget.

What else would I need apart from a 1021 board. I fancy the idea of regulated power supply. I have looked at a build guide but I dont understand how dacs work or any of the jargon. The Blink has no digital output so I can't use it as a BT receiver and mydac would require its own receiver. Iam in the UK (240v).

Matt
Old 20th September 2019, 08:53 PM   #2
cumbb is offline cumbb
diyAudio Member

I would tune the Arcam. Better than a new other one. And to increase the psu is THE chance;-)

...And remove all radioing stuff in there: very unhealthy;-)-;
Old 20th September 2019, 09:04 PM   #3
PJN is offline PJN  United States
diyAudio Member

You. Can buy a Bluetooth to Opti out thingie for about 35 bucks on eBay to let you stream from our phone to Dac. I picked up one for my garage system and it's not bad.

Last edited by PJN; 20th September 2019 at 09:26 PM.
Old 21st September 2019, 12:05 AM   #4