Dead NAD???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok, so this is now up and running, I re-soldered the power connection (after buying a desoldering pump and decent soldering iron)... to no avail.

However I did notice that one of the fuses looked a little deformed, almost like a slice of the windings had dripped a little, worked out it was on the analog side So replaced both and it now works at a good volume. Guess that being a slow burn fuse it must have partially blown, increasing resistance enough to strangle the current (and volume), but not enough so it didn't work or show up as a total fail on the voltmeter.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Great to hear you have sussed it and its all working :up:

Fuses can be odd beasts at times although in all my years as a service tech I can only recall one case of an 'intermittent' where the internal wire was not soldered to the fuse cap.

Well done :)

Thanks for your help once again, sure I would have just binned it otherwise.
Currently I'm doing some listening tests, I've got a duplicate cd in my collection, so have the fixed Nad c541i plugged in to one input and my Nad c525bee in the other. Using the same remote I have the two devices synced exactly on the CD and simply switching the inputs on the amp!
Bizarrely, despite them reading the same time, swapping over there seems to be a couple of second delay, so you can hear the same section seconds later.

First note is the 541i comes across as 5db louder (well I increased the level 5db on my amp to make them the same level to try and make it a fair comparison).

Think I am edging on preferring the 541i as it just sounds a tad livelier. Maybe a little more emphasis on the treble?

Next step should be a simple one with a bit of extra insulation and dampening, to help it along.

Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member