Help with Adcom GCD-575

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just purchased and shipped to me. Box looked ok and was well packed.

Problem is frustratingly inconsistent. On certain cds it will play about 10s of the first song repeatedly, starting over each time.

On another cd it will reliably skip from about 20s into track 10 back to about 50s into track nine.

Sometimes it will take a few seconds to recognize the cd, and I hear something almost like static while it's spinning.

What I've done is clean the lens, cleaned and lubricated the rails. And make certain there is nothing mechanical that would be impeding the carriage as it has to move from one end to the other.

The white plastic gears appear to be in good condition and move freely.

Any ideas? I'm not an electrical engineer but I can figure out mechanical stuff.

Joined 2011
Just purchased and shipped to me. Box looked ok and was well packed. Problem is frustratingly inconsistent.

Are you sure that it's the player? Many CDs will have problems after some use,
and different players will handle them differently. Try recording a "bad" one
using a computer drive. If it works, then the CD itself is probably ok.

Last edited:
Fair question

I don't know. The problem cds played fine on the Sony sacd changer I had previously but I know different players often handle cds differently.

May I ask- what prompts the gears to move the laser carriage along the rails? Is it what the laser is reading on the disk?

Joined 2011
Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
It generally works like this:

1/ The laser finds focus on the stationary disc.
2/ Only when focus is found does the disc run up to approximately the correct speed.