dac I/V convertion with very low distortion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is the circuit I use to listen to the discs of Tori Amos, it has the necessary distortion -89db :clown:

YouTube

Attachments

• simpler.png
    simpler.png
    19.6 KB · Views: 301
Account Closed
Joined 2010
:) of course it's too hard to replace r5 with a lower noise current source, but yes, you're right...i'm not an expert in anything...that is why i will stick with the op-amps psrr...No matter what you do, in the end you get the average thd+N when using discretes just because of the size of the circuit.I know that bc337/327 models are easily calculated by LtSpice, but using other transistor models in an i/v circuit of my own wasn't even possible to be modeled which makes me think that actually the bc337 model give ideal figures, not real ones.Did you measured those circuits in real life? Some of your circuits look like the discrete incarnation of AD844 to me and there were guys who are using the AD844 for a decade now...

Last edited:
:) of course it's too hard to replace r5 with a lower noise current source, but yes, you're right...i'm not an expert in anything...that is why i will stick with the op-amps psrr...No matter what you do, in the end you get the average thd+N when using discretes just because of the size of the circuit.I know that bc337/327 models are easily calculated by LtSpice, but using other transistor models in an i/v circuit of my own wasn't even possible to be modeled which makes me think that actually the bc337 model give ideal figures, not real ones.Did you measured those circuits in real life? Some of your circuits look like the discrete incarnation of AD844 to me and there were guys who are using the AD844 for a decade now...