Asking for help with debugging my first DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I'm building my first ever DAC (and a first electronic device I intend to finish, for that matter). It is based on PCM1798, which has 4 mA p-p current output. I decided to test the PCM IC with the simplest I/U possible, so I've built this (sorry for hand-written schematic):
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The OA is OPA2134PA powered with +/- 12V voltage. So far I've only tested the circuit with zero signal, an got 2V DC on the OA output (0.7V DC on R1). The resistors are 5% in precision, but I suppose 5% can not account for 2V. Any suggestions?

P. S. The schematics is not of my design, and I'm a noob in electronics, could you please give me a highlight on the principle of this circuit operation? Particularly, I don't understand the R2-R3/R2-R4 circuits. R2-R3 is a voltage divider (why would one want to divide voltage that's very low already?), but R2-R4 doesn't look like a divider at all (unless output potential is zero which it shouldn't be)...

Thanks in advance!

P. P. S. I've doublechecked the assembly, looks like everything is in accordance with the drawing.

Okay, scratch that. PCM179x has unipolar output; to perform passive I/U with a resistor it should be connected to Vcc and have have such a resistance that ensures nominal current at the center of the scale. For 1798 that's 2 kOhm which is said to kill the linearity.

Sorry for bothering you with such a dumb question.

Last edited:
Hi,

if using a resistor this resistor should be connected to gnd, because the DAC is a current sourcing DAC. If it were a current sinking DAC (if I remember corrctly AD1965 et al) the resistor should be connected to a positive potential.