Marantz cd-67mk2 skipping

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here looking for help. love my music and did in the 90s spend a bit of money on the following.

Oblisk 2 amp
Marantz cd-67se cd player
B&W P4s
Can't remember the speaker cable or interconnects but they were all upgraded.

My problem is the CD player, it started to skip even on new clean disks. Plus we started to save music onto the computer and i connected the Amp to the computor and listened to music that way.

I'm not into spending £1000 and i don't get that much chance to listen to music at home but would like to play the odd CD.
Please help do i buy a second hand unit repair mine or buy a Cambridge Audio c5 for £100.
Plus i bought the Marantz new from 7oaks when they were being sold off, so i know it's been looked after ad had little use.

thanks for any help

Chris.

Definitely not turps !!!

Lens cleaners with brushes are OK but it depends which type.

One has several small brushes (bristles) and is really useless.
The other has one or two larger brushes. This is better but in my opinion, after many years experience, is only effective if used wet. Some kits come with lens cleaning fluid otherwise a little isopropyl alcohol.

This is not as good as giving the mechanism a good clean!!

Removal is easy. Open the drawer and remove the front.
Carefully disconnect the ribbon, at board end only and the other connectors, remove 3 screws and hey presto.

You can then carefully clean the lens with a cotton bud dampened with lens cleaner.

Also clean the gears and slider mechanism of all grease deposits. These harden over time and prevent proper function. However, do NOT regrease !! Not required.

Reassembly is the reverse. Be careful with the ribbon. release the latching bar.

Should take 15mins start to end.

Good luck
Andy

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hello Poynton,