Recommendation on good USB-SPDIF interface?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am new to computer audio and need help from anyone with more experience.

What I want to do: play stereo hi-res 24/96 FLAC or WMA files that I downloaded from Linn website (using laptop), and feed the data from USB into my DIY WM8740 DAC with SPDIF input (WM8804 receiver).

So I am looking for a box that have:
USB 1.1 or 2.0 input (or wifi)
accepts 24/96 data from USB and outputs 24/96 data on SPDIF

I liked the Slimdevices squeezebox (wifi), but it only supports 48kHz sample rate, and the slim transporter is way too pricey with many features I do not need.

I am not sure which is the appropriate player should I use to play these 24/96 files (Media Monkey?). I was told by Tascam customer support that Winamp does not support 24/96????

I have done some research and come down on these 2 choices:

Tascam US-144: http://www.tascam.com/products/us-144.html

E-mu 0404-USB: http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp?category=610&subcategory=611&product=15185

Anyone have any experience with either of these box? Any pitfalls I should know about playing 24/96 computer audio?

Thanks!

Thanks for the link, XaudioX, looks very cool!

Here's what it says in Transit manual:
Note: Due to USB 1.1 bandwidth limitations and hardware constraints, sampling
rates above 48000 Hz do not support full duplex (i.e., simultaneous input and
output) mode

does it means it will only pass through 48kHz when plugged in to my laptop USB port and output through Toslink? What does simultaneous input/output means?

kop89 said:
E-mu 0404-USB: http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp?category=610&subcategory=611&product=15185

Anyone have any experience with either of these box? Any pitfalls I should know about playing 24/96 computer audio?