SRC4392 or AD1896

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I'm planning to build a DAC and I want to use ASRC to reduce jitter of the input signal. So there's a simple question: which one should i use: SRC4392 or AD1896?
The TI chip has separate curves for IP and OP dig servo loop
response. I am presuming the OP loop attenuates the ref clock
jitter and IP loop attenuates jitter from receiver portion of the
chip (whic has it's own PLL). Besides that, SRC has a steeper rolloff, 80dB/decade, compared to the AD chip at about 40dB/decade. However the AD chip starts a little sooner having better attenuation sub 20Hz.

Cheers!

I’m new to this, so I hope I’ve done this right. After long debates I've come to the conclusion that it's easier/simplest for me to use SRC4392 since it have on chip "Integrated Digital Audio Interface Receiver" (S/PDIF Transmitter it's not important for me right now). It also provides two Digital Audio ports and separated inputs for Master and DIR PLL clocks. Even that, my question is still on. Later I will probably build a board to test AD1896 performances (with CS8416 as S/PDIF receiver).

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Lorien

Attachments

• dac block diagram.jpg
    dac block diagram.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 1,761
Hello guys! Thanks for replies!
to KOON3876:
Very nice prototype board! Is there a chance to build the firmware for SRC4392 in the future?
AD1896 and SRC4192 are pincompatible, pinconfigurable.
Unfortunately I didn't success with SRC, its just generated noise.
After changing SRC with AD1896, it works fine...
This aren't good news since SRC4392 is an improved vesion of SRC4192 ASRC. :(
Still... is anyone here who already tested SRC4392? Any opinions about output signals? :hphones:
Regards