DCX upgrade or sell off?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My speakers are Goodmans 201's on an OB used wide range with a sub and tweeter, to top and tail the audio spectrum.
I've been using the 201's for several months on their own driven with my valve amp and although the sound is very transparent it doesn't extend as far as I want.

I bought a Behringer DCX2496 a few weeks ago and spent many happy days tweeking and playing with sound level balance and varying degrees of eq and xover points, to the level that I felt it was a really good sounding system with, for an OB, fantastic bass and excellent imaging. But....,always a but :xeye: , I noticed I was winding the volume knob past where I would normally listen, for me always a bad sign. I then took out the DCX and played the 201's direct and realised the DCX was removing a significant level of transparency with asociated loss of information in the music. In fact I can't now listen to the system with the DCX in circuit :cannotbe:

I believe I have 3 options
1 Mod the DCX in the hope that I can get back the transparency I desire.

2 Use the DCX, only to xover and eq the bass and tweeter, use the 201 direct from the valve amp and build the speaker baffle with a 30cm recessed baffle to time align the 201 with the bass and tweeter.

3 Do without the DCX competely and build active crossovers /eq using opamps.

:confused: I am really unsure which way to move on this and would love to hear advice from members here.

thanks
Kev

pinkmouse said:
First thought - Are you feeding the DCX with enough signal for it work properly? Bear in mind it is meant to be used with pro equipment that provides a much higher output, and as such, is not just a drop in item.