PCM1794A DAC Project

Hi all,

I'm making a PCM1794A project without the board and cost cutting limitations of the Chinese modules. It's for personal use but I'm wondering if there's demand in which case I could run it as a small commercial venture.

I'm a part-time electronic engineer, more digital than analog but it's easy to do with the datasheets. All digital chips are Texas Instruments apart from the MCU. Here's the spec:

• 2x balanced outputs, 132db/A
  • SPDIF 50PS jitter.
  • I2S pins if SPDIF isn't soldered.
  • 5v input, can be VBUS and noisy.
  • Very low noise LDO's for the 3.3v and 5v audio rails.
  • 6x NE5534 or equiv.
  • Panasonic 2% film ciltering caps.
  • MCU for audio power stage shutdown after 3 minutes.
  • Dual 12v/-12v boost & inverter, low ripple.
  • LED outputs for power, standby, error, receiving.
  • Very small size.

Active power consumption = 5v, 0.67A
Standby power consumption = 5v, 0.02A

I'm using SPDIF but it's becoming difficult to find motherboards with this connection. HDMI requires an extraction chip and introduces jitter, USB introduces complexities for Async mode and most vendors lack specification details. I still concluded for stereo SPDIF is the best source.

I'm also using only a balanced output. I use Adam Audio speakers which in my opinion are the best speakers in the world at a given price point. This however will hinder those without balanced.

Any thoughts, reflections, guidance, much appreciated.

Board pictures are without silk.

Attachments

• board.png
    board.png
    336.9 KB · Views: 409
  • board2.png
    board2.png
    131.6 KB · Views: 421
Lots of itty-bitty SMD. Are you planning to assemble these by hand? Toaster oven solder reflow?

I'm curious which clock/PLL chip you ended up with (the one by the oscillator). Or is that the SPDIF receiver?

I'm also curious about the opening in the ground plane in the corner by the 10-pin connector. What's the idea there?