Where to start?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm giving up my woodworking endeavors due to not having a stable workspace. People don't like sawdust.

My background is machinist and welder and long ago graphic designer. I enjoy taking on projects outside my realm of understanding.

I want to build some electronics from the ground up. My first real project will be either a preamp or a spl meter. The first question I have is about intellectual property.

Are some circuit designs so common that I could use them without infringing on someones intellectual property? If not, would understanding how digital information is converted to a signal be a good starting point, or are there chips that convert data and its a waste of time to learn how they do it? I suppose converting data to a signal must be extremely complicated.

If there is a book that would help get me started on this path please share. The closest I've got to doing electronics work is building some subwoofers. If you think what I want to do is not feasible without formal training I would appreciate you saying so. I would enjoy this type of work because I like problem solving.

From what I’ve gathered here, using others designs for personal use is ok, just not for profit.

Lots of research with this hobby, read, lots of time spent not moving around much versus traditional shop activities, so there are some health considerations if you tend to dive in head first perhaps.

A preamp would be a fun first project I would imagine.

Hi Bret, I see you just joined diyaudio last month, so welcome!

Do you just want to build electronics or to design and build electronics? Designing requires more knowledge than building someone else's design, although in both cases it helps to understand what you are doing.

If your first project will be a preamp or an SPL meter, why do you want to learn about digital to analog converters?