Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Line Level DACs, Digital Crossovers, Equalizers, etc.

Replacing caps in a mini USB DAC
Replacing caps in a mini USB DAC
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th December 2016, 01:20 AM   #1
answerawake is offline answerawake
diyAudio Member

Default Replacing caps in a mini USB DAC

Hey there, newbie here,

I just purchased this DAC

https://www.amazon.com/Signstek-Coax...dp/B00FEDHHKE/

and there is a review that talk about replacing the caps and other components

https://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R35..._=glimp_1rv_cl

Unfortunately the reviewer has not mentioned any specific values or other specific components he used.

A few questions:

1. Has anyone else modified this DAC? I believe it is just a generic PCM2704 DAC.

2. I'd like to select replacement components, how would I select the correct type of capacitor. Will any capacitor work as long as the values match? I have read about different types of caps but not sure if all will work in audio applications.

I am coming from a software background having soldered many modchips when I was younger so I am still a beginner when it comes to understand core electronics and HI End audio.

It sounds really nice out of the box, but I wanted to see if I can hear the amazing sound this reviewer claims to hear.
Old 10th December 2016, 06:54 PM   #2
doctormord is offline doctormord  Germany
diyAudio Member

If "any" cap is fine, then the actual stuffed are fine as well.

Caps used: "Elna Silmic II's, Nichicon Fine Gold, and Nichicon BP'"

Which are brown/gold/green.