Replacing caps in a mini USB DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey there, newbie here,

I just purchased this DAC

https://www.amazon.com/Signstek-Coaxial-Converter-Decoder-Analogue/dp/B00FEDHHKE/

and there is a review that talk about replacing the caps and other components

https://www.amazon.com/gp/review/R35R4CCF7WPMGP?ref_=glimp_1rv_cl

Unfortunately the reviewer has not mentioned any specific values or other specific components he used.

A few questions:

1. Has anyone else modified this DAC? I believe it is just a generic PCM2704 DAC.

2. I'd like to select replacement components, how would I select the correct type of capacitor. Will any capacitor work as long as the values match? I have read about different types of caps but not sure if all will work in audio applications.

I am coming from a software background having soldered many modchips when I was younger so I am still a beginner when it comes to understand core electronics and HI End audio.

It sounds really nice out of the box, but I wanted to see if I can hear the amazing sound this reviewer claims to hear.

If "any" cap is fine, then the actual stuffed are fine as well.

Caps used: "Elna Silmic II's, Nichicon Fine Gold, and Nichicon BP'"

Which are brown/gold/green.

Hopefully he didn't used knockoffs from China. ;) Is your board equipped the same as on his pictures (before mod)? Changing the ceramics in the signal path "might" alter/"improve" the sound. To be sure, you'd need to buy a second DAC to have a reference for the modded one.

(Btw. wrong forum, the belongs to "Digital Line Level". Please ask a moderator to move he thread)

Last edited:
If "any" cap is fine, then the actual stuffed are fine as well.

Caps used: "Elna Silmic II's, Nichicon Fine Gold, and Nichicon BP'"

Which are brown/gold/green.