Can low jitter be achieved with STM32 microcontroller

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I consider starting a project tha would basically use receive music from USB, apply DSP and Crossover management and output I2S or SPDIF fo feed 4 x Full Digital Amplifiers channels (here 2x FX-Audio D802 with SPDIF), using a STM32F7 Nucleo board.

The chips have a DSP instruction set. Those boards can address in a quite rich way multiple I2S and SPDIF, in a synchronized way. They can use a dedicated oscillator for the audio part and have dedicated audio PLL. Last, they are cheap. It seems to me a good basis for a low jitter system.

But, I'm a beginner here, I lack a lot of knowledge, and for those topics the devil is in the details...

Objective is to be at least better than what would be achieved on a Raspberry Pi on the I2S output (should not be too difficult), and ideally achieving 95% of the performance of the "reclocking" boards considered here (I know how the last 5% can be hard to achieve in many cases).

Any comment, warning and advice is warmly welcomed.

JMF

I agree with you. Not easy to find the information, the applications, the reference data...

However, the platform looks to me promising. And (I do some advertising), if I didn't needed more power, I think that the extension board that plugs on top, with the 2x40W amplifier based on the STA350BW, with all the software provided by ST, would beed a try: full digita chain from the USB to tha amp. One single clock to manage DSP, I2S to amps, Amps.

http://www.st.com/content/st_com/en.../stm32-ode-translate-hw/x-nucleo-cca01m1.html

JMF

Hi,