OPPO as USB DAC?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just bought one of the low end OPPO Blue Ray 3d players, the 103D. It has a number of USB ports. What I want to know is if I can use the USB and connect my laptop with the ripped music and use the OPPO as a USB DAC as a way to get the ripped music into my system.
I do have a stereo USB DAC made by ifi, the IDAC. The chips in the OPPO should be as good or better, it would be easier to do, and I shouldn't have to worry about the 5V power and could cut those wires and just use the data wires to keep it quiet.
I tried to find this with the search, but after 2 hours I have given up.
Thanks for anything you might pass on. I am brand new to ripping and truly do not know what I am doing. Since I didn't need to know this stuff, I don't. Now I need to learn it.
Thatcher

as far as i'm aware the USB ports on the OPPO are one way and you can only connect such things as powered HDD's. the OS on the OPPO does not allow it to act as a computer.

what you can do however is copy your music files to a self powered (desktop) USB HDD with your music files on it and then use the OPPO as a file player but you need to have it plugged into a TV to be able to scroll through the music files. even a USB thumb drive will work.

ripping CD's is easy just google 'how to use EAC'

I found something in the manual. It says that the HDMI port on the front (next to the USB) is MHL (Mobile High-Def Link) and is capable of accepting Hi Def from a smart phone with an adapter and charge the phone.
I tried attaching my tablet with its USB cord and while it didn't get a signal through that I know of it did charge the tablet. I don't know if it sends signals out the USB and I didn't have the OPPO on the TV screen to look at the menu. But since there are 3 USB ports and only one is needed for WiFi I would think they are inputs of more than WiFi, which is a lot of signal.