DAC and starving student millet hybrid combined in one

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I’m new to this hobby and looking forward to start building my own headphone amp. This is my first project so I want to keep the costs low, in case I will screw up. Thereby I’m a student so I don’t have too much to spend. I decided to build the SSMH dsavitsk 12AU7 mod. Now I’m looking for a USB input DAC which I can combine with the SSMH.

I did some research online and I found these two options to be interesting: 1) YJ Assembled AK4399 AD827 II2S DAC Decoder Board with USB Interface | eBay
2) http://www.ebay.com/itm/CS8416-CS43...739?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item418aed6823

What do you think? Which one of the two will give better sound quality, or maybe you have an even better option? Will there be some minor modifications I can make to these units to increase sound quality? Maybe I can replace the capacitors for larger ones? I've already read a lot on this forum and often impressed and overwhelmed by the complexity of the modifications made to standard DIY kits.

Hopefully you can help this starving student out and make this the start of a nice new hobby.

You're probably right about cost vs. quality. Especially in my case with little diy audio experience it would be more beneficial to buy a finished product.

But where is the fun in that? For me the fun is in building it myself. Though it would be great if it turns out to be a dac-amp with good quality sound which i can enjoy in future.

If sound quality is uppermost on your requirement list I can't imagine why you'd want to start with an S-D DAC chip containing CMOS opamps. S-D DACs generate noise modulation and their output stage opamps are inordinately sensitive to noise on their power rails.