Signalyst DSC1

...maybe offer the shift registers mounted for (apparent) less skilled solderers... I have no prob with resisters etc...

Yes, sorry for my inexactitude but I meant to say 'preferably pre-populated (with good quality resistors)'. SMD active devices are what I find hardest to solder but if those were to be pre-soldered perhaps it would be as well to do the resistors etc. too?

I have considered the Chinese DSC1 boards available from ebay but I wonder about their use of only 1% tolerance resistors?

Found a little time today - have music. Using DSD512 it sounds really very good.

But I have some noise in the background that seems uncorrelated to the signal, varies in intensity but at its loudest is very detrimental. It starts when I hit Play in HQPLayer, even before the music starts. Is this something characteristic of this approach to "decoding" or can I hope to drive it away and let the good music flood through.

Need to figure how to auto the mute too - almost drove my Utopia drivers through my eardrums on one occasion. Not good for me or my cans!

More later.

But I have some noise in the background that seems uncorrelated to the signal, varies in intensity but at its loudest is very detrimental. It starts when I hit Play in HQPLayer, even before the music starts. Is this something characteristic of this approach to "decoding" or can I hope to drive it away and let the good music flood through.
In the differential version, this noise is absent.
Need to figure how to auto the mute too - almost drove my Utopia drivers through my eardrums on one occasion. Not good for me or my cans!
More later.
This is a big problem when playing DSD. But it is completely solved in Amanero with the new firmware version of 2003.

Hi PPY

Thanks for the information. I (perhaps foolishly) sold my Amanero i/f sme tme ago. Maybe should consider buying another.