Asynchronous I2S FIFO project, an ultimate weapon to fight the jitter

Hi Ian,

I just come across this FIFO project the passed few days, and the tons of info to sieve through really overwhelms me and I am not technically savvy.

Anyway, hope someone can answer my few newbie questions. I have just ordered one AK4490 dac board from fellow diyer Mirand Audio which has i2s CMOS level v3.3, AES and bnc inputs.

1) To build the streamer for the dac, should I order one FIFO II + XO or McFIFO + McXO board, together with one spdif board?

2) Since I have both Odroid C2 and rpi 2B boards, could I get one isolatorPi to work with the FIFO board for both SBC?

3) If I use direct wires to connect between SBC's GPIO to FIFO board, do I still need the IsolatorPi board to provide isolation, since the hat is not direct connect to the sbc?

4) Instead of above FIFO board, could I use one isolatorPi and FiFoPi and also the spdif board together to output spdif or i2s to the dac?

Last edited:
Power supply choices

I am putting together a new streamer based on Raspberry Pi (running Logitech Media Server and PiCorePlayer) -> McFIFO -> McDualXO (with Pulsar clocks)

What are the best practice power supply options to power the above 3 components in this setup?

I have seen the battery based solutions, but I would rather have something set and forget than deal with recharging of the batteries etc.

Hi, I have a problem with Fifo II and I'm very clueless and desperate

My system:
Rapsberry pi/Isopaton pi/Fifo II/Dualxo

My Fifo stopped working, when music plays (Volumio, selected generic output i2s) does not turn on LED Look (D5), only led Empty (D7) lights up.
I have tried connecting with U. FL or with Gpio to J2 and J9, it has not worked. I have two pi isolator, does not work with either of the two, nor J2 and J9 directly to Rapsberry Pi, I have tried several Rapsberry pi and Odroid C2 (selected the correct jumpers in Isolator pi).