idiots guide to impedance + spdif measurement

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

I have 2 Qs here that I know must seem very basic, but need help sorting it out in my head.....

Firstly:

I have a sound card - m-audio audiophile 192. It outputs SPDIF over a coax connection. I have a DMM and oscilloscope. Can someone tell me how can I measure the SPDIF output and what it should be... ie 0.5V square wave, sine wave, should it be 2V and so on..... yes I am a beginner.... :cannotbe:

Second:

Same SPDIF - and the 75R impedance question. I always think of impedance as resistance to flow, makes sense right? And I can imagine that a particular cable might have a certain impedance (kinda like the way a cable will have some capacitance too). But how is that measured, how is 75R arrived at and exactly what is meant by the 75R? I mean, do they take a standard length of this cable, and measure the attenuation of a signal at a certain frequency or something?

Why is a RCA connector not in compliance with this impedance but a BNC connector is?

I know they seem like stupid questions - but I see it often cropping up in arguments and I just don't get it. Seems like a basic thing I should get clear:ashamed:

Fran

BTW, I did google this but didn't find the answers, and really just found quite a bit fo sales talk as to why I should buy x, y or z cable.

Same SPDIF - and the 75R impedance question. I always think of impedance as resistance to flow, makes sense right? And I can imagine that a particular cable might have a certain impedance (kinda like the way a cable will have some capacitance too). But how is that measured, how is 75R arrived at and exactly what is meant by the 75R? I mean, do they take a standard length of this cable, and measure the attenuation of a signal at a certain frequency or something?