Sound Bar Hacks and case mods

Hi all,

I made some contributions in a projector thread about understanding the protocols for lamp ballast communication. This is a pretty great community. I'm not a sound engineer, so I might be wrong and looking for input.

I am building an amp from the guts of a soundbar LG LAS160B.

This is going to be detailed, so please don't be deterred by the length of the post. There is a photo and the details are there to spare people's time.

https://postimg.cc/9w5HHqX6

Background:
I was not happy with the casing of my sound bar as it seemed to be deteriorating. So I salvaged the guts of it for use later. The sound used to reach about 85-89dB at max volume, subjectively from 3m away or 10ft indoors. Never really got loud enough to enjoy much and seriously lacking in bass and a lot of compression past 12kHz although I could hear some 14kHz come through.

The old specs:
There was one rectangular "racetrack" full-range driver per channel in this 2.0 system 40mm x 100mm or 1 1/2" x 4". There were places for tweeters to go in and online tear-downs had tweeters, but mine came without any and there was nowhere to plug them in and no crossovers, although a lot of empty room in the driver compartments.

• SPL: 81 dB
  • Bass Reflex (but there were no ports for this or passive resonators)
  • Impedance: 4 Ohms (actually this was measured off-state resistance but quoted as impedance)
  • Unshielded.
  • 25 + 25 W Amp.
  • 14.5V SMPS at about 5A.

My thinking: