Beginner Advice, Bypassing Relays in Sony TA-FB940R

Hi guys, if anyone with the patience for a 99.9% beginner can help out, as an educational experiment I'm interested in bypassing the relays in the Sony TA-FB940R amplifier. I've never done this before obviously.

I've attached a photo of the amp if anyone can tell me how to go about it in simple steps I would be very grateful!

Many thanks!

P1120817-1 — ImgBB

Last edited:
What's wrong with it ?
Do You realize if there is a DC fault on the output it will cook Your speakers ?
In order to bypass the relays, just shunt the contacts on the left (four horizontal wires) but not the coil contacts on the right (vertical).
Don't mess with the lower one, since it is used probably for the headphone switching.

What's wrong with it ?
Do You realize if there is a DC fault on the output it will cook Your speakers ?

Thank you for the reply!

Yes, I'm OK with the risk, I'm good with some aspects of the hobby (I know it might come as a surprise!) I've built power amps without any protection and I'm OK with taking the risk on the Sony. I just struggle to learn when I hit a brick wall with taking in new knowledge. And I get embarrassed when asking for help like this. Some people can be really rude and troll you just because you don't have the same level of knowledge as them.

Please bear with me here, I don't mean to be exasperating but which four wires do you mean? Sorry. Are you going by the schematic of the board or the photo? I've attached a photoshopped photo of the area. Thanks again for your patience and time!

Basic-Questions-on-Bypass — ImgBB

Last edited:
diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2008
Paid Member