Building using solid wood

Hi all,

New here, but been reading some of the advice on here for a long while.

I'm a total hobbyist builder, got a few self designed sets around the house and a few friends have asked for them.

It's my dad's birthday next month and I though a nice set of custom speakers for his wee Denon mini system would be nice. Nothing majorly fancy but he does have a livingroom full of white oak furniture.

With that in mind, (and I have read a lot, and I mean a lot, of conflicting views on using solid wood), I though about using 18mm (~3/4") solid oak for the sides, top and bottom, mitred at the corners to try and create a "flow" from panel to panel and look to offset/minimise movement.

For the backs I plan on using oak, cut as an "insert" slightly recessed and screwed to some rails inside sealed with 3M VHB foam tape (I think the black Torx screws would look great). I would use the insulating tape so that I can leave a small gap for movement and still have a sealed enclosure.

For the front, plain old 18mm MDF again as a slightly recessed insert glued in place with the single Dayton Audio RS100-8 and a front firing port cut out and then primed and painted gloss black (to contrast the oak).

Internally, a single 18mm MDF brace under the woofer inside a cabinet that would be 300mm (~12") tall, 150mm (~6") wide and 200mm (~8") deep.

Now, in my head this seems reasonable sensible, they would look good with the "constantly flowing" oak grain as they will be cut from one board and finished with a lovely clear matt Black Bison Wax.

I totally get that I could use an oak veneer but I have had mixed results with veneers and there's something about the weight of solid wood.

Thanks for any or all input all :)

Wherever you are, have a great day and thanks for reading.

Planks or narrow stave board which should be more stable?
What joints are you planning?
What will you do when the wood warps and joints open up(cry?)?
Why not oak veneered plywood?