Two layer versus four layer PCBs

I'm asking for opinions on whether a four layer PCB will work better than a two layer PCB for audio applications like power amplifiers. A four layer board would have a ground plane.

I've come across varying opinions, without any solid answers.

I'm a retired IC designer beginning to dabble in audio. I've designed switching power supply chips, both buck and boost converters. It was critical that these chips be used with carefully designed four layer boards because of the high frequency currents circulating between the chip and external components. Sloppy design resulted in failure, and two layer PCBs would not work at all.

I have no real experience with designing boards for audio, so any comments will be appreciated.

Whether four layers offers any benefit I think depends on the amplifier class. ClassAB has half-wave currents flowing in the OPS and controlling these and ensuring no interference with other signals probably is easier with four layers than with two.

Thanks for responding.

What is "OPS"? Sorry, I'm not yet tuned in to a number of audio acronyms.

I'm guessing that the degree of messiness due to half-wave currents depends on the degree of being class AB: full AB would mean virtually digital switching between top and bottom halves, but if you control bias so as to make a continuously variable transition from AB to class A, the "switching" would lessen down to zero. Or am I off base here?

Ooops, apologies that I slipped into audio amp jargon and you had indicated you're a noobie. OPS = output stage.