Is too much such a thing?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everyone

I joined a long time ago and can't remember why exactly. lol

Now I'm back and trying my first build and I'm a complete noob but, I learn quickly.

I don't know if this project is too ambitious or if it's even realistic. I'm sure you guys can help me with that.

My project idea is to have a 3 way speaker, portable, bluetooth, more powerful than those Ion block rockers, have some decent bass and under $200 for complete build. I know I'm stretching it a bit thin but, that's the goal.

Current setup is:
Tweeter: Visaton SC5-8 Shielded 1/2" Polycarbonate Tweeter 8 Ohm

Mid: Dayton Audio PC105-4 4" Full-Range Poly Cone Driver
I changed my mid to this Dayton. The spl graph for the goldwood driver was sh*t.

Woofer: GRS 8SW-4 8" Poly Cone Subwoofer 4 Ohm

Amp: Sure Electronics AA-AB35281 3x200W Class D Audio Amplifier Board - T-Amp

Power supply: 48V 12.5A 600W LED Driver Switching Power Supply(SMPS)110/220VAC-DC48V Transformer Monitoring Power Supply Industrial Power Universal Type

That's everything so far. I've yet to figure out the bluetooth and any accessory panel or fm tuner and the likes. I was trying to go with a battery but, to get around 48 volts and 600w+ it would take a lot of 18650s. Like a 14s6p pack. Expensive, even if I sourced the batteries myself, and heavy.

Now my questions to you guys are.... Is this overboard for a first timer? Or is it even feasible? Would you guys have any suggestions or tips in regards to cost saving or the setup or anything about the build?

Your expertise and help is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Howdy,