USB Power and Grounding Issues

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm pretty new to DIY audio, so my apologies if these questions are very basic. I've built a headphone amp and equalizer that each use 5V USB power to supply them (as a matter of convenience, I have a ton of USB charger bricks laying around) with a little SMPS board in each that gives me a +/- 15V dual output to drive some op-amps. I added a linear regulator to each rail along with some other filtering to give a cleaner 12V to each. Of course, USB power only allows positive and negative terminals, no grounding. So my circuit is floating - the SMPS has its own ground pin which I've tied my PCB ground to, but no earth connection.

The trouble is that I'm getting a fair bit of hum on the RCA inputs when they aren't connected. When I connect them to my DAC (or to a stereo jack directly from the source), the hum gets much quieter, but is still there to some degree. If I hold the output TRS jack between my fingers (good ol' human ground) the hum is inaudible. This is the only way I've managed to successfully eliminate the hum thus far.

I was hoping to get some ideas on best grounding practices for this particular situation (USB power with no earthing) to hopefully eliminate this noise. Currently the input/output grounds are tied directly to a ground pour in my board, and the pour is connected to the ground pin of the SMPS. As I mentioned, I'm a beginner to DIY - this is my first headphone amp and second build. I've been reading a lot on this and similar topics in the past few months, and I'd really like to learn more here so my future projects (not just this one amp and equalizer) turn out better.

Thank you in advance!

Let me see if I can help you...

To eliminate hum you need a good grounding scheme, and then good power supplies to start.