Newbie... build speaker cab with generic mystery speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, newbie here, sortof... not sure where to post this, way too many subforums, heh...

I have a handful of small generic speakers & while they aren't showstoppers, I would like to Optimize their sound by building a cab around them. Can someone point me to some places that will give me correction calculations of dimensions (LxWxH)? Perhaps that is all I will need to do at my stage of knowledge/experience, i.e. build a PROPER cabinet, install speaker, then straight wire them up to an amp sound source. I have built a speaker before but that was in the late 1980's.

Here are the speakers in question:

- 3.0 inch (frame), 4Ω, 8P307TA (there is a logo on speaker but not sure what it is), wattage unknown, smooth silver plastic dustcap, 2 pieces.

- 2.5 inch (frame), 16Ω, no model#, TopToneJapan, 2 pieces (may not use these)

I also have a couple tweeters that if I had time I may also design into the computations:

- DP-Audio DW51 tweeters, crossover built in, impediance unknown, 2 pieces, see Fry's Electronics |

I have actually breadboarded the 3.0-inch speaker & DW51 tweeters last year, in stereo config & I thought they sounded ok, but that was without a cabinet. I realize they may have different impedances, I don't recall what "resistance" I measured of DW51.

I have read the Radio Shack "Building Speaker Systems" (2nd Edition Paperback – 1991) that I read in the early 1990's, but their golden ratio calculations don't go far down into the 2-3 inch speaker sizes, iirc.

Any thoughts? I just want to build a quick cheap (but optimized) PC/shelf speakers out of these items. Thanks. If anyone needs photos of these mystery speakers, I can do that if requested.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member