Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Construction Tips Construction techniques and tips

Old radio -> bluetooth speaker
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th October 2017, 10:54 AM   #1
josi94 is offline josi94  Norway
diyAudio Member

Default Old radio -> bluetooth speaker

Hi, i recently started to look in to DIY speakerbuilding after i found a old radio at my old grandparents house. It is not working and i dont know much about radio circuts. So i was thinking about renovate it and build it to a bluetooth speaker to my dad as a christmas present, so he can have it as a memory of his parents.

I want it to sound really good and not make it to complicated as i have no experience in this field. But i have an idea on how i will do it, but i propably need some guidance if this is any good and tips from you guys.

Plan:
I thought about building a sealed build as this seemed to be the easiest way. So i would seal the back with some wood and have a low frequency driver in the back and a higher frequency driver where the old speaker was. And i was hoping the original potiometers will work.

Questions:
Is my plan ok or is it stupid? i ask cuase i have no experience in the field.
If it will work is it anything i should look out for?
And last, will the old potiometers work on a new system (If they are ok ofc.)?

Every answer and tip will be hugely appreciated, thanks!

Picture of the radio: (It got a little streched in the uploading)
Click the image to open in full size.

Sketch of py plans:
An externally hosted image should be here but it is no longer accessible. Please upload images instead of linking to them to prevent this.
Old 13th October 2017, 09:53 PM   #2
Andersonix is offline Andersonix  Sweden
diyAudio Member