Retro Ipod boombox build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently saw these really cool portable ipod/computer speakers online: tomboxshop

Since I am a college student they are a little out of my budget, but I am pretty handy and I figure that I can build something similar.

So far I have decide on these components:
speakers: 2x Dayton Audio ND105-4 4" Aluminum Cone Midbass Driver 4 Ohm 290-212

amp: Dayton DTA-1 t amp (can be powered by 8 AA batteries)
Dayton Audio DTA-1 Class T Digital AC/DC Amplifier 15 Watts Per Channel - Parts Express 300-380

I would deconstruct the amp and mount the speakers in an enclosure styled like an old radio somewhere in the size range of Height 5in x Base 10in x width 4 in

I would have liked to do a 2 way speaker design, but I'm not sure it would fit in the small package

please give me any suggestions if this would work and sound good. Portability and sound quality are the highest priority.

i have just finished my boom(ish) box it is build with
TA2020
Li-ion battery
Charger
Tang Band W4-655
Marmitek bluetooth module
it is a bit bigger than i first planned but it sounds beautiful

Attachments

• IMG_0274_1.jpg
    IMG_0274_1.jpg
    36.5 KB · Views: 220
  • IMG_0275_1.jpg
    IMG_0275_1.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 208
  • IMG_0276_1.jpg
    IMG_0276_1.jpg
    48.6 KB · Views: 206
I recently saw these really cool portable ipod/computer speakers online: tomboxshop

Since I am a college student they are a little out of my budget, but I am pretty handy and I figure that I can build something similar.

So far I have decide on these components:
speakers: 2x Dayton Audio ND105-4 4" Aluminum Cone Midbass Driver 4 Ohm 290-212

amp: Dayton DTA-1 t amp (can be powered by 8 AA batteries)
Dayton Audio DTA-1 Class T Digital AC/DC Amplifier 15 Watts Per Channel - Parts Express 300-380