Lead Free Solder Recommendations and Procedures

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to DIY electronics; I have never soldered anything other than sweating copper pipe. I have read a lot of information on the Internet on soldering and plan to purchase a Weller WES51 soldering station. Since I have never soldered an electronic component before I thought it would be best to learn to solder with lead-free solder.

I searched this site but could not find the information I am seeking. I have many questions…

I have found various lead-free silver solders, most tin with a little silver and a touch of copper and some with no copper. Is there any preferred metal combination or brand of solder? What gauge / thickness solder should I use for most electronic work? What temperature setting?

Any tips for soldering with lead-free solder vs. standard lead based solders? Do I need to use liquid flux or is flux cored solder sufficient? Any other tools a must? I read about using heat sinks on heat sensitive components. Any tips or other resources would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Martin

Hi,
stick with leaded solders.
The standard eutectic 63/37 is great for most DIY jobs, is easily available and is cheap. Buy two or three diameters, 500gms of each.

If you have unplated tips/bits then a SAVBIT style (a small proportion of copper) of solder helps prevent erosion of the copper bit.

I plan on buying Kester Sn96.5Ag3.0Cu0.5 solder since I cannot find eutectic lead-free solder (Sn95.6Ag3.5Cu0.9) from any manufacturer. I'll look elsewhere for tips and tricks. From what I have found it is no different than working with leaded solder.

Martin

mhconley said:
...From what I have found it is no different than working with leaded solder...