New Bee to Class D Capabilities

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks,

I am new to hardcore Class D audio power amplifier design . i plan to start with sigma delta modulation and error integrator design (about which i dont have any idea). :(
If somebody amonst our forum members could assist me on "How to go about "it would be great. Please spare a few minutes of your time and help.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=36852&perpage=10&pagenumber=1

there are a series of directions to beginners.

We usually use self-oscillating PWM scheme instead of delta-sigma,for it need a relatively low switching frequency.

to use delta-sigma,put a D flip-flop between the comparator and the gate driver & clock it with 1MHz ~ several MHz.

be a beginner,maybe you can try doing something with low power supply(5V logic,etc.) using some comparator and logic gates. thats easier than high power circuits.

a 555 timer connected into schmitant trigger(self-oscillating PWM ), or a 74HC74 D flip-flop (delta-sigma) plus some transistors(as voltage follower) is enough to drive a small speaker 8ohm/0.5 watts.

you can try to implement many kinds of feedback control techniques on these small devices.

remember to add the output filter--small things may not need them,but a big amplifier must.

Kenshin said:
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=36852&perpage=10&pagenumber=1

there are a series of directions to beginners.

We usually use self-oscillating PWM scheme instead of delta-sigma,for it need a relatively low switching frequency.

Thanks Kenshin,

Why i wanted to start with delta sigma itself is ( please clarify if i am wrong) because, the dynamic range offered by sigma delta modulation is far more superior than that offerred by other topologies, better than 144 dB.