t.amp TA3200 MKII & American audio V3000 - repair

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I recently got my hand on two malfunctioning amplifiers, one American Audio V3000 and one t.amp TA3200 MKII.
I am not really an electrician but an audio engineer and a musician, but I am also a curious person and with some free time on my hands I decided to try repairing these two amplifiers. As one might have expected I have however run into some dead ends and is turning here to see if there´s someone who might be willing and able to help me out.

So, let´s start with the American audio V3000.

When I first got it it pulled the 16A fuse of my apartment as I tried to power it up (the amps internal fuse is a low fast blowing fuse of 20A).
The left amplifier element also got very warm very fast in the short time it was operting.

When opening it up and measuring the two amplifier channels I found that the left side amp measured oddly in the transistors with fully open circuits.
I took them off and found a few broken, open circuit, transistors. I ordered new ones and replaced both the fully open ones and any onces that would be measuring oddly in comparison to the new ones.
I also replaced a few ceramic resistors that measured fine but that had some minor cracks in them.

I ensembled it all again and now both amplifier elements were measuring mostly equal. No open circuits and only very minor differences in numbers, probably due to the older transistors on the right side.

I start it up again and at once the 16A fuse goes.

Measuring the pins connecting the elements to the power board both sides reads the same.

I also tried starting the amplifier up with the elements disconnected from the power board which also pulled the fuse (that might be natural though - in all honesty I don´t know but thought it might help identify if the issue is in the amp elements or the power board/supply).