Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Why is there ground noise in audio systems? How to solve it?
Why is there ground noise in audio systems? How to solve it?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th November 2019, 07:26 AM   #1
audio listener is offline audio listener
diyAudio Member

Question Why is there ground noise in audio systems? How to solve it?

Hi. I'm a beginner to audio. Now, I'm trying to build a 2.1 audio system. I have read that there is noise in audio system. But I don't understand what causes it and how to avoid or solve it.
Please give me some advice...
Old 29th November 2019, 07:55 AM   #2
JonSnell Electronic is offline JonSnell Electronic  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Ground noise or hum is normally caused by poor wiring between pre amp and main amp, plus any outboard graphic etc, having the earth cables routed to provide a loop.
When you provide a loop, there will be an earth or ground connection between two pieces of equipment more than once, forming the loop.
Or
there is no earth to any of the equipment. That is not only not recommended as it could be dangerous and can give rise to stray noise.
Basic common sense really.
See Ground Loops 101 | Audio Science Review (ASR) Forum
Old 29th November 2019, 08:39 AM   #3
scottjoplin is offline scottjoplin  Wales
diyAudio Member

Hi. Welcome to the hobby. This answers both your questions http://hifisonix.com/wordpress/wp-co...ound-Loops.pdf
Old 29th November 2019, 08:53 AM   #4
Douglas Blake is offline Douglas Blake  Canada
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by audio listener View Post