Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

Beomaster refit - controversial?
Beomaster refit - controversial?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th September 2019, 06:49 AM   #1
tallnutt is offline tallnutt  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Beomaster refit - controversial?

Hi All,

I need some opinons from all you experts. I have a 1972 Beomaster 3000 system which is incredibly beautiful to look at but I think it's time to refit it. I've repaired numerous components over the years but I can't live with the intermittent faults, noise and drop outs it suffers from. Also, every time I change components, the traces break becuase they are corroded. It'd be easier to just get a new amp but I don't want this system to just sit unused.

I'm not sentimental about analog amps and I think the class D projects I've bult for boom boxes, garage amps etc. sound much better.

So what I want to do is refit it - keeping the FM/AM tuner board, which works fine, and replacing the preamp and power amps with class D. I also thought putting in a computer PSU could supply all the voltages it needs. I'm not an electronics expert but fairly skilled with a soldering iron and audio builds in general.

What are your opinions about the best pre-made boards to buy for the amp and pre-amp (I need a preamp for my turntable)? The power amp needs to be around 50 W (RMS) per channel for my purposes. I'd also fit a blutooth module. The boards need to have analog pots that I can rewire to the existing slider controls on the front panel (Vol, Bass, Treble).

Thanks!

Theo
Old 8th September 2019, 08:06 AM   #2
jan.didden is offline jan.didden  Europe
diyAudio Member

Sacrilege! ;-)

Jan