Sanity check: Simple TDA3116 Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I want to put together this simple TDA3116 board:

Amazon.com: Amplifier Board, DROK TPA3116 HiFi Dual-channel Stereo Audio Amplifier Subwoofer DC10-25V Digital 2.0 Amp Module 25W+25W Output with Volume Adjustment Knob: Home Improvement

And this power supply board to power it:

Amazon.com: DAOKI AC-DC Power Supply Module AC 85-265V to DC 24V 6A Switching Power Supply Board: Home Audio & Theater

to make hopefully a reasonably high quality stereo sound using some decent bookshelf speakers in an average-size room. I have some experience with electronics but I am new to this age of pre-fabricated ultra-cheap class-D amps. So I don't know what to expect.

Could you guys comment if this makes sense and suggest changes?

It is mostly to have fun tinkering with it but I also hope that the sound will be enjoyable. If it works, I'll probably add a bluetooth board to it and put it in a clean-looking chassis or something.

Are these two boards compatible? Is it really all that's needed or it is understood by everyone except me that more work is required?

Thanks!

Hi

as rayma said..its ok.

safety:
please be aware of the power supply module- smps it not just 240V(120V). because partly you have more voltage because of switching there (300V...). please think about that nothing /nobody can touch the primary side of the power supply!!!

chris

Why is that board marketed as 2x25W while it should be able to do 2x50W@4Ohm?
2x25W@8Ohm would be correct.
It is also quite expensive and you might want to have bass and treble controls. Have a look at Ebay.

I have 2 of these power supply boards; one came in DOA and the other one I never use as old laptop bricks work fine. (safe, no emf problems, cheap and probably better quality)