TPA3255EVM to complete amp (advise needed)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Good day all,

I am new to the forum but it seems that there is a wealth of information to be had here :)

I was looking for a good set of 2.1 desktop speakers/amp but unfortunately high end models like the corsair SP2500 is not available in my country and importing it via the likes of amazon will work out more than double the list price when taking shipping and taxes into consideration.

That's when I thought that I might take my first step into the world of DIY audio. I can get my hands on the TPA3255EVM (TPA3255 325W Stereo/ 600W mono PurePath Ultra-HD Analog Input Power Stage Evaluation Module - TPA3255EVM - TI Tool Folder) for $250 converted when it releases and figured that might be an ideal place to start if I can buy some descent bookshelf speakers for a quality 2.0 setup.

I am by no means an audio expert but I have degree of experience with electronics in general and I was hoping someone on the forum could help me with the following questions:

1) What do you think of the TPA3255DDV specifications? I reckon I will drive 2 x 100 Watt, 8 ohm bookshelf speakers so I will stay well below 1%THD+N. Do you think it's good value at that power and distortion level considering the Class D amp can get away with a much smaller PSU? Or are there commercial options that are better value(I have not seen any)?

2) What is a good PSU to use for this amplifier? Would something like the SP-750-48 (http://www.mantech.co.za/datasheets/products/SP-750-MW.pdf) work are switching mode PSUs a very bad idea for audio amps? Ripple noise is listed as 120mVp-p max which is a very small % at 48V, but information regarding the switching frequency is not available so I am not sure if anything will fall within the audio band. Where can one buy stand-alone low noise linear amps? They seem to almost non existent.