TPA3255 - all about DIY, Discussion, Design etc

A logical reply would be "apparently" but it is unusual. First, you have to make sure that the white noise does not enter via the input from a previous stage.
So, unless you have already done this, disconnect the source and short the amplifier inputs to ground. Still a clear imbalance in the white noise?
If you still have a clear imbalance of white noise, it is likely to be a capacitor that makes unusually much noise in the right channel.

I turned off the computer. The computer served as the ground. The channel imbalance was apparent in white noise.
As I listened to music, I noticed that the right side was 1dBv louder than the left.
So, I compensated by decreasing the right volume of my onboard soundcard by 1dBv.
However, the channel imbalance may not be consistent across all frequencies.

Is it common for a cheap generic class-d amp to have 1dBv of channel imbalance?

Last edited:
Hi all,

I’m very new to DIY audio and wanted to build my first DIY amp to power some KEF LS50’s. Would the Meanwell Hep-600-48 be overkill for such an application and would a more cost effective SMPS be the LRS-350-48?

TI use the HEP 600 at their demos apparently, but it’s pricey. I wouldn’t mind building something with some headroom anyway in case I wanted to repurpose it for another project, but wanted to check whether this was an unnecessary purchase.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.