Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Class D Switching Power Amplifiers and Power D/A conversion

SMSL TA2021B Power Supply ?
SMSL TA2021B Power Supply ?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th May 2013, 11:27 AM   #1
Turdinator is offline Turdinator
diyAudio Member

Default SMSL TA2021B Power Supply ?

Hi guys im new to tri path amps just bought myself the above amp and I am blown away at the sound it produces I have a Marantz pm6004 and a denon pma 520ae and believe me when I say this little amp blows them away for sound quality so detailed natural and can hit low notes easy with punch and detail that the other amps don't quite give me.my question is the amp came without a power supply I hooked it up to a spare 12v 5a supply I had lying around.now the dc input says 14v so could I get a 14v 5a supply to give it a little more oomph ?
Old 28th May 2013, 02:32 PM   #2
Hammett is offline Hammett  United States
diyAudio Member

My experience is that there was relatively little difference between a 12v and 14v power supply, but there is a BIG difference if you go to a 12v battery (marine/deep cycle battery, which does not suffer when deeply discharged).

Battery power brings the 2020, 2021, and 2024 to another level. The sound is more relaxed, while the bass is deeper. Very nice! I am running an 18ah battery, so it has plenty of juice and lasts for days and days before I have to recharge it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdinator View Post