Audiosector/Chipamp LM3875 or Mauro Penasa's My Reference RevC from Twisted Pear

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
another noob here. ive been reading up on these gainclone amplifiers and seeing witch one to go for. i want something i can build "out of the box" and which i won't need to build a pre-amp for, yet anyway.

i want somthing simple to start with and ive decided on either down to the Audiosector/Chipamp LM3875 or Mauro Penasa's My Reference RevC from Twisted Pear.

they both seem very good, but witch shoud i go for?

the lm3875 looks like the most comman chip and the audiosector looks well deisgned. i read the other newbie thread and see i will need speaker protection circuits which will make the lm3875 only slightly cheaper than the twisted pear option, so price isnt an issue.

garnett. if your reading this can you tell me why you decided on the lm3875?

the myref and the threads about it make me think its had a lot of thought put into it.

so which should a noob looking for the best sound and easiest first amp go for?

whats important to me is sound quality, volume, and ease of use.

if you can help thanks.

Hi Blottojon.

I'm on the verge of going for the Audiosector kit. I've read glowing reports of the LM3875 on here, and at www.gainclone.com. (Also - this is the chip the original gaincard came with in 1999 - as that is newer than the kit I use at the moment, and sold for about 20 times more than mine when new, I figure having as close a copy to that can't be bad. ;) )