Complete novice alert! *don't read if easily annoyed by stupid questions*

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
If it is duplicated exactly then it should work :)

Are all these the same? or are any different?:

I've got: pin: 1 +27v, pin 3: 0 pin 4: -27v, pin 5: +27v, pin 7: 0, pin 8: -0.45, pin 9: 0, pin 10: 0

If they are all the same then switch off and check the continuity of the negative speaker terminal back to the zero volt point. It should read as a 'short' meaning continuity.

Do the same for the positive speaker terminal measuring from the positive speaker terminal to pin 3 of the chip. Again there should be continuity.

Check that you have wired pin 10 (the input) in exactly the same way as the other channel and that it connects to the middle pin of the volume control via a similar series resistor and cap as the other channel.

Check that the end pins of the volume control are wired correctly and that there is continuity from the control to the input socket.

Make sure you haven't an accidental short across the input socket.

Okay, I've duplicated everything for the RH channel, but I'm not getting any sound. I've measured the voltages across the pins and they are the same as the LH channel. Everything else 'looks' to be connected properly. Any suggestions of things I could check? LH is working fine as before.

You should check that you haven't been drinking too much of your finely crafted beer:D

I've started a micro-brewery - Brew your own! - Survive France

Shakespeare: Biere Artisanale

Last edited:
Ha! I think I've found the culprit. The potentiometer is either a bit faulty of I've damaged it somehow, but I can get both channels with sound if I wiggle it a bit :), but it doesn't seem to matter how much I turn the volume up, it stays the same. I suppose I'll just have to get another one or try my linear one and see if that works okay.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
:up: wonderful. See, you got there in the end :)