Bob Cordell's Super Gain Clone PCB (LM3886) and a stripped-down version: Compact3886

Thanks for the replies so far. If you haven't guessed I am still very new to the hobby. I was really asking what the difference is in the fundamental design of the amplifiers. After doing some more research and asking a colleague, it seems like the fundamental difference is that the gainclone is digital and the Amp Camp is analog. Both are solid state. Is that a correct assumption?

Joined 2011
Paid Member
bobberner, your colleague got one thing right: neither the Cordell Super Gainclone, nor the Amp Camp Amp, includes vacuum tubes. Not a single tube in either one.

The heart of the Amp Camp Amp is component #1

whereas

The heart of the Cordell Super Gainclone is component #2

Why don't you forward those links to your colleague, and ask her/him to look them over? Maybe a light bulb of sudden understanding will illuminate... ? You might find it easier to trust the opinion of a colleague rather than a bunch of relative strangers on a website.

_

Last edited:
Joined 2011
Paid Member
Readers,

Member bobberner PM'd me on March 13th to ask whether this set of PCBs might make a good project for a class he teaches at a community college in the Eastern time zone of the US. Then he asked for roughly comparable amps available in kit form (letting someone else do the miserable grunt work of sourcing components). I replied by PM

Bob, the closest comparable kit is the (very excellent) Akitika GT102. For $314 you get two amp channel PCBs, one PSU PCB, two heatsinks, a pre-drilled chassis, all electronic parts, a power cord, a lighted ON/OFF switch on the front panel, and no requirement to spend hours and hours of your time ordering individual components from Mouser. Or finding substitutes for out-of-stock parts.

GT-102 Stereo Power Amplifier .

Now that ACA is available in kit form it might, or might not, be considered a "comparable" amplifier.

-- Mark Johnson (thread starter)