Newbie looking for help interpreting Oscope images

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I would like some help trying to interpret the attached oscilloscope images from an LM3886 build. I am a total newbie and this is my first post but I have spent a lot of time reading and trying to learn and understand the underlying characteristics of each component of an audio amplifier and how each should perform before I started building anything.

The images are from my first build, a replica of the Circuit Basics LM3886. A couple of notes on the build:
- This is all assembled on a breadboard using wire wrap. So yes, the wire gauge is only 30 awg. I did this because I wanted to be able to substitute parts to experiment with performance. However, the leads and wire lengths are not always the shortest length possible and that combined with the small gauge might have introduced inductance.
- I’m using a 5 watt 8 ohm resistor for the load. This is just a regular resistor. It’s not a non-inductive etc.
- Power supply is a pair of stacked DC supplies providing 25 volts + or – to each rail.
- The load and the power ground are grounded to the ground on the power supply.
- The signal ground is daisy chained to the power supply ground.

I know this is not an ideal build but it is for experimentation. Would it have an impact on my questions that follow?

- Image 1 is just to show the amp is working. It shows the input and output with a 1kHz sine wave and an FFT plot.
- Image 2 is just the FFT with the signal amplitude set to just before distortion. I’m getting approximately a -52db change between the 0dB and the noise signals after the 1kHz fundamental. I equate this to a voltage ratio of .25% which seems good to me. This is just one frequency but am I looking at it correctly?