Rebuilding my 2011 LM3886, question about grounding (or lack thereof...)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Back in 2011 I successfully built myself a pair of LM3886 amplifiers using amp PCBs from Analog Metric & power supply boards made from perfboard/stripboard. I have been using this setup pretty much daily for 7+ years with zero issues. In fact not only do they sound great, but they quite possibly have the lowest amount of background hum/hiss/noise of any amplifier I have ever owned. The construction is very basic, as seen in this diagram which essentially shows every single wire, with nothing omitted for brevity.

2011_gainclone.png

I am about to embark upon a new project, where I will essentially rebuild this two-channel setup into a 3-channel 2.1 setup. Both of the current amp boards will be powered from one of the current transformer/power supply boards (for the L/R speakers), the now spare transformer/power supply board will be used to power a new 2x LM3886 (parallel) board (for the sub) & a new small transformer/power supply board will be added to power a new 2.1 crossover board.

2018_gainclone.png

I am aware that 76V is towards the high side for LM3886 (this was due to my inexperience, not realising that the transformers I bought were spec'd with 230V primaries while my AC usually runs 245-247V), but as the current two-channel setup has been running just fine like that since 2011 I don't intend to spend money on new transformers or regulators.