Gainclone building thread based on BrianGT's boards

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
ok im an idiot. i wired the V+ and the pg+ backwards
but luckily i fixed it and it still works :D :D :D going to wire the pot as wildman noted right now. hope it works. i should get my dang camera by tuesday i hope. ebayer is lagging. but as soon as i do ill post picks. came out pretty decent i think. billet aluminum case with phenolic rear pannel with all the connectors int he rear and the noble pot in the front left. nice and small. hope there isnt issues with everything right next to each other.:rolleyes:

Re: What Iron is too hot for BrianGT's PCBs?

Yesh said:
...I'm a newbie to sodering, so I read the part of his PDF manual about sodering. He mentioned not using an Iron rated above 35w. So I went out and bough a Weller WES51 soddering station. But it's small iron is rated 50w. Though it does have heat control.

If I turn the heat all the way down do ya'll think it will work well sodering PCBs? Or should I buy a new iron rated lower for this Weller WES51?...
A solder station is way over the top for this, but I guess the temp control is nice :). Sure it'll do. I'm not sure about the temperature, I believe 350°C is OK, but then again I might be completely wrong and it should be 500°C. I'm sure someone here will tell you what a good temp is :).

Originally posted by Devil_H@ck
A solder station is way over the top for this,

Ya sort of. I had a 15W "fire Stick" :) and it just wasn't cutting it on my earlier PCB test/learning sodering. Guess I went a bit far in the other direction.

Originally posted by Devil_H@ck
I'm sure someone here will tell you what a good temp is .

Yes! I suppose that's what I need to know. :D
What is a good temp to use for my Weller on PCBs?