TDA2020/TDA2010:what are your memories or opinion about these vintage ICs?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys!
I'd like to know your memories or your opinions about two vintage amp chips:
the TDA2020 and its little brother, the TDA2010.
I'm a newbie, but I'm very interested on the history of the electronics evolution.
The only thing I know about them is that these amp chips has been the pioneers of the first hi-fi "powerfull" integrated circuits (for that time, of course!).
What about their sound? are/were they decent "perfomers"?
Please, let me know your experiences or your opinions about these pioneers!;)
Thank you very much!
Best regards!:)

in my youth the tda2020 was one of the first poweramps i had built.
there was an elektor article "20 watt ic verstärker".......
i made this amp with a regulated single supply (2n3055+bd139+z-diode etc.).
fiddling around with the heatsink on top side of the tda2020 was a little bit of effort.......
it sounded astonishingly well. after some time i gave it away to a friend and he had it for a long time.

the tda 2020 was also available as a kit from rim electronics/münchen......

also there were some tda2020 schematics in electronic books.....

Hi, i guess, the TDA2010 is the Abraham of the TDA20x0 line, the last model being the TDA2050, all having the TO-220-with-five-legs-package. My first work with them was a stereo TDA2030 amp. I killed a chip before i had it working. At first i did not like its sound too much, blaming the modern way of cheapness, until i understood to properly ground the loads (at chips, where negative feedback works, not at supply). This teached me to be wary of things, which sound good despite being drenched in blood. Anyway the TDA20x0 is a KISS minimalist, fine.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
> your memories ..about ..TDA2020/TDA2010