Modulus-86 build thread

My understanding has always been that trafo further from inputs is preferred, but I’m no expert, just another diy’er following the advice found here :)

As for the lrs, they are relatively inefficient and 4 ohm, but as long as you take care to build your amp with that in mind I would imagine the modulus a very worthy amp.

My understanding has always been that trafo further from inputs is preferred, but I’m no expert, just another diy’er following the advice found here :)

As for the lrs, they are relatively inefficient and 4 ohm, but as long as you take care to build your amp with that in mind I would imagine the modulus a very worthy amp.

Cool, thank you for your input on both parts :)

2: If no one has specifically tried it does anyone think the modulus86 would be suited to driving them.

Yes.

3: Is there any truth / science to claims that these speakers can sound "better" when driven by amps which can supply more current. (Is current supply even a consideration, and is it as important as the wattage specification)

I suppose one could make a hand-wavey argument around capacitive loads requiring higher output current capability than purely resistive loads. Whether there's any science behind it is another matter.

If you're concerned about output current capability, you can always go with the Modulus-286. It has twice the output current capability of the Modulus-86 and -186 (so 22 A rather than 11 A under typical conditions).

Always an option, and if it is better to have the PSU nearer the I/O connectors rather than the trafo, then thats the route I'll go.
Always happy to hear people's wisdom on this build

The currents flowing in the transformer and out of the power supply are both nasty. Between them, the currents in the transformer are the nastier ones, so keeping the transformer wiring to a minimum is wise. This generally places the transformer by the rear panel, where it's closer to the inputs.
So you're optimizing two variables: