"Yuanjing" Gainclone 3886 - eBay amazing value ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Another good looking ChipAmp board..

Hi all..

I'm a newbie and just wondering if anybody have information how to
contacts the owner of this web: www.hifizone.net

I'm really interested on their 3 good looking PCBs:
1. ALEPH3886 : http://www.hifizone.net/shop_view.asp?id=964
2. X-PP : http://www.hifizone.net/forum_view.asp?forum_id=14&view_id=1619
3. X-PT : http://www.hifizone.net/forum_view.asp?forum_id=14&view_id=1620

I mailed them many times but it seems they ignore me.. :( hiksz..

If anybody can't help me getting those stuff, I'd really appreciate.

Blessings,

- Cruzs -

Yuanjing LM3886 + NE5532 gainclone PCB

The kit may be dodgy, but the bare PCB is available and easy to assemble. I got one, and it's OK for the price. However, there are some issues with the design.

1) No star grounding. It uses two ground planes instead for the NE5532 and LM3886 sections, and the planes are connected at a single point. However, this is not good enough, since the main PSU filter capacitors are located and grounded on the NE5532 side, and the 7812/7912 regulators for the opamp supply are located and grounded on the LM3886 side. Significant ground-bounce issues are a certainty, and there's no easy fix for this.

2) No lifted ground for the input near the NE5532 - this is what contributes to the hum. However, this easily fixable with minor mods:

i) Remove the 10uF, 25V DC blocking cap for the feedback network for the input gain stage. Replace it with a 10 ohm, 1W metal-oxide resistor, mounted vertically as shown in the attached pictures. The upper lead of this resistor will be the lifted signal ground. The shield ground from the input connector is soldered to this lead (instead of being connected to the input terminal block), while the input goes to the terminal block as before.