• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Obtaining Transformer for LM3875 Kit in NZ

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. Way down here in NZ freight is a huge issue... usually about twice the price of the product, especially from US. I'm finding it hard to find 300VA 2x22v transformers to suit the Audio Sector LM3875 Kit.
I'm a noob and want advice if a slightly different transformer is ok or what would have to change to suit them.

found these locally in NZ
https://nz.element14.com/vigortronix/vtx-146-300-224/300va-toroidal-transformer-2x24v/dp/2817701

18V [url]https://nz.element14.com/vigortronix/vtx-146-300-218/300va-toroidal-transformer-2x18v/dp/2817700?st=toroidal%20transformer.[/URL]

I want to make sure I can find and afford ALL the parts before ordering anything.

Also could you explain what should I expect the difference between the "classic" version and the "Premium" version to be?

Last edited:
I assume you mean the Audiosector kit?

In the last page of the kit instructions, Daniel says this:

Based on that, for 8 ohm speakers 2 x 22V AC transformer is recommended, and for 4 ohm speakers 2 x 18V AC transformer.

In practice, I didn't find any drawbacks with using 2 x 22V AC secondaries with 4 ohms either, so that value can be a good overall choice.

So it depends on your load, but 2x18 should work fine for both.

I've used quite a few Vigortronix transformers from Farnell / E14 and have always been happy with the quality versus price.

Looking at the classic versus premium, the PCBs in the 'premium' are better quality (gold plated), and the kit comes with 'lower noise Kiwame resistors'.