DIY Ribbon Microphone Tutorial

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a newbie to DIYAudio, and I've been lurking for a few weeks, researching ribbon Microphones.

In that time, I've designed, built and documented a DIY ribbon microphone tutorial for the DIY community.
The DIY tutorial for my AUSTIN Ribbon Mic is posted at:
www.RickshawRecords.com/ribbonmic

I plan to make the tutorial available as a paid internet download, and/or an eBay item in mid-February, but it will be FREE to the DIY community for awhile, so your comments and suggestions are appreciated.

The document and design have been copyrighted, so my only request is that you do not re-post or link to the document without my expressed permission. In other words, download the tutorial now, and build as many mics as you like, but please allow me keep control of the Internet distribution of the document.

Thanks,

- Rickshaw
www.RickshawRecords.com

There is a sound sample of my first attempt at recording with the AUSTIN Ribbon mic here:
www.RickshawRecords.com/ribbonmic/Initial_Mic_Samples.wav

I also recorded some of my other mic's at the same time as a comparison.

NOTE: Go easy on the volume. The ribbon samples have some very low bass transients, due to handling noise and a loose ribbon (my first attempt). It also has the $25 Edcor transformer, which doesn't have the best high frequency response.

- Rickshaw

After over 300 downloads of the Ribbon Microphone plans, the free download period for the the DIY community has now ended.

Rev 2.0 of the plans (with more photos and descriptions) are now available from www.RickshawRecords.com.
I spent a long time on the design and the tutorial, and the microphones sound great... It's worth the $9.99.